V96 Fitness, Permyjaya Miri – Gym Review

25 Nov
New In Town

1st look and you go, “Wow! it’s a huge gym!” Rarely you find a gym this big and packed with equipments in Miri other than Ace Fitness which is open a few weeks after V96 opened.

The 1st time I stepped foot into this gym it was still under renovations. Most of the equipments are functioning except the cablecross machine which is still waiting to be bolted up. So i didn’t tried it. Not too long ago after my return to Miri, I needed a gym and so I went to view it and found out everything is in proper place.

DIY Machines

Few days later, I packed my shakes and workout attire and hit for V96. Went in and paid RM6 / entry. Dropped my bag and slide into my gloves. It’s my shoulder and leg day. So I walked straight to the cablecross machine and tried an Isolated side cable lateral raise. (FAIL) The low pulley is at an awkward angle and the roller weren’t smooth. I tried a few angles but it’s still a rough ride. But I like the fact it’s semi-freeweight. No stack weight plates instead it’s using weight plates so you can control the weight flexibly. So I tried the front lateral and it didn’t work as well as I thought so I drop the idea of using it.

I walked to the dumbbell rack. It’s quite complete so I figure it’s mostly catered for those who are interested in free weights workout more. So I pulled off nicely with the Iron Dumbbells for Side and front as well as bent-over lateral raise. I walked to the smith-Machine for shoulder press and shrugs but to my horrid the bar is imbalance. You can literally lift 1 side 1 – 2 feet higher without shifting the other side so it’s very imbalanced and dangerous. So I skipped that part and did my dumbbell shoulder press and shrugs.

After that I stepped onto the Leg Press Machine. My favourite exercise but unfortunately the machine was a welded piece. Lots of irritating sound but it’s pretty smooth. Angle could be better but nothing which I can work without.

Moving on to the Leg Extension Machine which I find the angle and the measurement could have been better if there’s more part which is adjustable. The flow is a bit rough adding more traction to the exercise.

Looking on to the Hack-Squat machine to finish off my leg routine. The angle is not too bad. could have been better. The footing platform was made out of planks of wood nailed together. It’s pretty smooth for a home made machine. but Reverse Hack-squat was pretty much impossible. So I only performed the regular hack squat. After that I went to try the Squat rack but ended up just finishing off with the hack as the safety stopper was tee bit too high which affects the lowering level of my squat.

Mostly welded equipments

I wouldn’t say it’s the best gym experience I’ve had in Miri cause I didn’t managed to pull off a good workout. The Machines didn’t function as I expected it but definitely but in which they make up with the large range of equipments and weights. If you are looking to throw some weights (the range of free weights is very tempting) and sweat it out, you can give it a shot.

Tons of equipments

Overall I would say it’s 2/10 in my own personal opinion.

34 Responses to “V96 Fitness, Permyjaya Miri – Gym Review”

  1. ah^kam_koko' November 26, 2011 at 12:34 am #

    An honest review. Something we need more of these days.

  2. True Religion Jeans For Cheap December 17, 2011 at 9:14 pm #

    already. THIS I promise that when fed the perfect amount of moment, is one objective is at easy reach! Remarkably wreak along the first of all associated with issues all that add approximately on your feelings. In front of in every

  3. ah ben February 1, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Hi, i just wanted to know this permy gym it is better?

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 February 2, 2012 at 9:15 am #

      well, it’s a gym with lots of equipment and u can get a good workout out of it but i won’t say great workout.

      • ah ben February 25, 2012 at 11:51 am #

        oh i see.. thanks for information. can you give me some recommend some gym in miri? =D

      • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 March 2, 2012 at 10:51 am #

        depending on which part of miri u are in. there are some nice gyms around

      • ah ben March 11, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

        i searching the permy area which gym are recommend. however i saw you wrote the eastwood fitness gym, and rate 3.5/5 look like recommend but is too far for me to go eastwood. xD

      • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 March 15, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

        there aren’t many gym around that area. other than V96, there is Xgym opposite Merbau School. Another gym by the shoplots next to Shell with the McD drive through. Ace Gym at Saberkas. Why gym at kelab Rekreasi Petroliam

  4. Frank April 22, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    May I have the address ?

  5. jiun May 9, 2012 at 8:52 am #

    may i have the contact number for this gym?

  6. riq September 10, 2012 at 1:02 pm #

    What is the operating hour for v96 gym?

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 October 10, 2012 at 8:06 am #

      not too sure on that but i think it close at 9pm

  7. Gloria Joseph October 11, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

    Can I have your contact number?What is the rate for walk in? and also rate for 1 month?

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 October 12, 2012 at 8:38 am #

      hi, sorry but i don’t work there. I think they charge RM5 or RM10. not too sure. but its not expensive. Even the monthly membership is less than RM100.. much less but im not too sure. you can pop in to check it out for yourself. Its quite easy to find

      • jennedynn edlynn October 30, 2012 at 1:22 pm #

        hai,
        20/12/2012 nanti saya balik ke miri…bole tolong kangsi2 dgn saya gym2 yg ada di mir 😀 thank you… nice blog too…

      • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 October 31, 2012 at 8:49 am #

        kangsi2? which area are u at? probably i can recommend u some gym nearby ur area 🙂

  8. big jim December 14, 2012 at 4:55 am #

    did this gym supply any supplements?

  9. George March 7, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

    do they still have the X gym opposite to merbau there? or move already?

  10. George March 8, 2013 at 4:30 pm #

    tell me the exact location

  11. Ivynne Ronnie Nyawin September 23, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    hai.. is they have instructor cause im interested, but for 1st timer go gym like me, i dunno which gym machine is suitable to use.. please advise?

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 September 23, 2013 at 11:02 am #

      Hi Ivynne, what do you have in mind? i dont think they have Personal Trainers for gym bt there are dancing classes.. How much is ur budget and which area in Miri is convenient for u? mayb i can recommend you gyms near ur place

  12. ekaaa September 25, 2013 at 3:40 am #

    Hello. Im a first timer and looking for a gym. Live around permy. Can u suggest me with the gyms.. i need to lose weight tho haha. Budget? Below 100 if possible but u just list down of it can? Thanks!

  13. liza January 24, 2014 at 11:59 pm #

    Boleh recommend gym yg ada coach..

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 January 27, 2014 at 8:28 am #

      you kat lokasi mana? kat miri. Ace Fitness & Body Evolution kat Saberkas ada. Fifty5 kat Piasau ada. Xtreme Gym kat Imperial Palace & Imperial Mall ada.. tapi tengok u kat mana saja

  14. girl March 19, 2014 at 3:27 pm #

    can tell me the exact location for V96 gym??

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 March 19, 2014 at 4:38 pm #

      are you familiar with Permy Jaya area? if you are. coming from the pujut 7 traffic light pass the 1st bridge and the petronas on the right.. take the 1st junction on the left and you will come to a row of shops. Its right above the seafood restaurant

  15. girl March 19, 2014 at 5:18 pm #

    may i know the name of seafood restaurant??

    • Bong Cheng Tzuu, 黄晨祖 March 20, 2014 at 8:28 am #

      hmm.. im not too sure though. i have not eat out for many years now. and its a new place. bt then, once you are there you will see the big V96 signage

Leave a comment